Prayer reflection for the Day – The LORD listens to our complaints

July 21, 2021frjohnma

“Moses said to Aaron, ‘To the whole community of the sons of Israel say this, “Present yourselves before the Lord, for he has heard your complaints.”’ As Aaron was speaking to the whole community of the sons of Israel, they turned towards the wilderness, and there was the glory of the Lord appearing in the form of a cloud. Then the Lord spoke to Moses and said, ‘I have heard the complaints of the sons of Israel” (Exo. 16:9-11).

Our humanity is supposed to be the face of love, compassion, creativity, honesty, emotions of friendship, sorrow and sense of loss and courage and resourcefulness. We are created and destined to live a life of “inside out” and not “outside in.” To this end, God has endowed us with numerous powers to discover our soul’s vocation (living “inside out”) through empathy, high intelligence, intuition, and keen insight into God, human conditions and ourselves. There are signs to assist us to evaluate our soulful maturity: longing for God and holiness, preference for solitude, being sensitive and empathic, a profound understanding of human nature, the ability to deeply introspect, disinterestedness in worldly achievements or status, an inclination towards spirituality, a yearning for a contemplative and mystical approaches to life, and the thirst for truth and wisdom.

As beautiful as the foregoing sounds, it is humbling to realise that we have been influenced by numerous weaknesses and these weaknesses make us vulnerable. However, we seem to have denied our vulnerability and keep parading ourselves as super men and women. Our friend Sigmund Freud reminds us that: “Unexpressed emotions will never die. They are buried alive and will come forth later in uglier ways.”

Therefore, let us voice out of our challenges. This time, instead of just complaining unmeritoriously, let us do something very beautiful for Jesus; through prayer, meditation, counselling, spiritual direction and psychotherapy. God bless you by listening to you daily. Amen.

Comments (12)

  • Chinwe

    July 21, 2021 at 10:51 am

    Thank you so much Father, you always know the words, the way to say it to lift up our spirit and make us realize that God is always with us. He knows our worries.

    It is as if you’re inside us and you identify where and how exactly complaints disturb our souls. You make us understand that it is not the solution but it lies within us. The answer is to set our priorities right by putting God & the love of our neighbours first. To God be all the glory. Amen!

    1. frjohnma

      July 26, 2021 at 8:50 am

      Wowoooooooo! I am grateful for your very deep and insightful words. God bless you and answer your prayers daily. Amen

  • Juliana-Mary Ukeje

    July 21, 2021 at 2:01 pm

    Amen. Thanks a lot Father and may you be as richly blessed.

    Thank you also for the advice to admit our vulnerability and to stop parading ourselves as super men and women, noting that we have an Almighty God and loving Father that is ever ready to hear & readily attend to our complaints, as well as providing us spiritual direction services through His Church, especially for us Catholics in the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

  • John Egbejl

    July 21, 2021 at 3:05 pm

    Thanks a million times Fr. It’s actually a wonderful lesson

    1. frjohnma

      July 26, 2021 at 8:48 am

      Good morning dear friend of God. God bless you and your family

  • Fr. John-Mary Atep

    July 21, 2021 at 4:13 pm

    Thanks immensely. Your comment is very insightful and to the point. We just need to be ourselves.

    1. Gerard-Mary Udoji Edougha

      July 22, 2021 at 10:18 am

      Many thanks Padre John-Mary Benedict Ntol Atep for your continuous openness to sharing with us… Arriving at Living “Inside out” and becoming characterised with true growth into Soulful maturity remains the Crux of our Christian vocation. I am Grateful for your sharing!

      May our Blessed Virgin Mother Mary (our perfect example of living inside out) help us with her constant intercession and motherly care to progress towards attaining true spirituality and Christian maturity through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

      1. frjohnma

        July 26, 2021 at 8:46 am

        All to Jesus! Good morning my dear brother. Thank you for your gracious words. They are very helpful to the ministry. God bless us and inspire in us the fire of His Holy Longing. Amen

  • Margaret Chris NJEPUOME

    July 21, 2021 at 7:07 pm

    Our ever loving Father is always encouraging us to do nice things but we keep going another direction, thank you Father Atep for this reminder. Prayer is the key indeed, channeling all to HIM instead of complaining and grumbling when we have a loving Father like HIM.

    1. frjohnma

      July 26, 2021 at 8:47 am

      Madam Margaret you are blessed all the Days of your life and family. Thank you for your kind words!

  • Batomaria

    July 23, 2021 at 1:16 pm

    This is a wonderful piece, Fr John-Mary. May God’s blessing be upon you always.
    What you said is simply the truth :We especially in this generation no longer voice out of our challenges and problems because we lack the essential moral resource to do that –Humility. And having(I’m not sure if we have) that all available social opioids, movies, games, gambling, partying, sex, friends, social media, partying wine/dine, government and even centering are helpless, pride has therefore, afforded us the great misfortune and phobia to accessing spiritual services and sacrament of the Church….. ” That they may be ever seeing but never perceiving, and ever hearing but never understanding; otherwise they might turn and be forgiven!” Mark4:12.
    May God help us out of this irreligious religiosity. Amen

  • Fr. John-Mary Atep

    July 23, 2021 at 5:53 pm

    Hmmmmm! Irreligious religiosity

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Prev Post Next Post